Tags

, ,

Today while rummaging through my closet to find something half decent to wear; I was suddenly hit with the realization that a good part of my wardrobe was all black and grey! A year ago, I used to resemble a forever 21 spring window and now all I was wearing was blue black, green black and (insert any other shade of black here) more black! What had a year in nyc done to me?.. I who used to wear lime green, turquoise and yellow all in one look!( Don’t judge me!)?My only plausible explanation – It’s funny how we sub consciously adopt the sensibility of the people we spend time with; slowly but surely. That said,I set out wearing my cerulean blue dress and coral flats 😉 to find out how much color fellow NYers were wearing. Not surprisingly there were more shades of black than I had seen (if that were possible) however interspersed with color in the form of accessories thankfully! But some of them had some eye catching color combos on! Here are my findings 🙂

A

Note to self: Jewel tones can never go wrong! If you ever have a doubt look at Haider Ackermann’s work!

Not a fan of head to toe color? You are not alone.. But that doesn’t give you a reason to shy away! Colored bottoms are all the rage now! Choose a color that works for you.. if bright is not your style, pick a pastel(I recommend mint) and work with tones from the same family and tadaaa it works 🙂

See what I said about the mint pants? ❤

There were a few brave people who really embraced color! ( hello my old self)

   

And finally some of them played with neutrals with peeks of color! This is the easiest form of incorporating color and works best for most occasions!

     

Orange with neutrals work like a charm!

Prints are a great way to add color too 🙂

Finally if wearing any color makes you run for cover, accessories are your BFF!

Happy flirting with color (You are welcome!) 🙂

