Tags

, , ,

Elsa + Muiccia soucre: http://www.metmuseum.org

Following the success of the Alexander McQueen: Savage beauty, the Met is opening the Schiaparelli and Prada: Impossible Conversations. What excites me the most is the interesting format in which the exhibit is to be curated – on the lines of a fictional conversation between two women from completely different eras using 80 pieces from their collection. The points of showcase will include similarities in their aesthetic, the way they approached different themes and their treatment of the female form through the ages based on their influences. While this venture sounds interesting, I still cannot wrap my head around why they would try to nit pick similarities between these two women. Agreed they are both italian, have strong personalities and a solid body of work, but Prada has never referenced to Schiaparelli in any of her collections. Also the way I see it now, some of the connections made, seem forced.There might be the threat of the each of the designer’s aesthetic being lost to the “commercial” element. I would have thought Schiaparelli deserved her own solo exhibition, but I am guessing the Met wanted a “prada” to bring in the crowds! Either ways a must visit for me!

The exhibition runs 10th May – 19th Aug at the Met

