Tags

, , , , , ,

The first time I heard about VIDAL SASOON, I was eighteen. I liked the sound of his name, thought his work was rad, but didn’t pay too much attention ( I was busy obsessing about the Chanels, and the Guccis of the world) when my Professor said he was one of the most influential personalities in the fashion world….  Now 5 years later, when I just read that Mr. Sassoon has passed away, the depth of my professor’s words ring true. Vidal Sasoon’s story is inspiring to say the least. Having been brought up in an orphanage, training as an apprentice at a salon in his teen years, Sasoon’s life was gritty, but none of it affected his work. Calling him a hair stylist would be a shame, he was more of an artist, with the modernity he infused in his sleek bobs and angular cuts which provided the perfect foil to the MOD movement of the 60’s.  Here’s some of his work. This man was/is a genius!R.I.P

